Post tonsillectomy- day 2+3

So surgery was yesterday and I felt surprisingly ok after it. I’ve woken up today again feeling ok.

The pain is like bad tonsillitis but with none of the other symptoms; fever etc. I was taking pain relief every 4 hours as the doctor suggested and felt quite full of energy. I even helped my dad a bit with putting up the Christmas tree.

I managed to eat mashed up eggs for breakfast, lots of ice cream and fresh tortellini pasta with no sauce.

I didn’t nap as much this day and was feeling like recovery was going to be a breeze!

I did have 2 waves of nausea on this day which weren’t nice but passed with no actual sickness.

That night I went to bed feeling great but the pain soon came. I was up that whole night in a lot of pain and eventually slept at about 7am for an hour. This was only after being able to finally take my next lot of pain relief.

After waking up not only was I tired but my whole face had swelled up. My throat felt like it had doubled in size and my ears were in the most pain. Even ice cream was too much at this point so I really survived this day on ice chips. I had about 4 pint glasses of the stuff and it really helped with the pain and to keep me hydrated.

That night I switched from paracetamol to cocodamol and the pain became much more manageable. I was able to sleep that night but only ever for a few hours at a time.

I had a stack of magazines and an iPad with Netflix on it by my bed. This really got me through the long nights so make sure you have plenty to hand. Bending down was also quite hard as it put pressure on my throat so have things up high rather than down low!

Day 3 was my bad dip so be prepared for it to come. Even if the first couple of days feel like a breeze.

Leave a comment